Winter Chill...
Trip to Frankenmuth
(2005-12-22, 10:58 p.m.)
The real fun started Tuesday, Zeke had truck problems, and he called me three times, trying to get a hold of me to let me know. He thought it was the transmission, but the shop said it was the catalytic converter, but the muffler shop said it was something else. He is taking it to some other guy today and have him look at it and get the diagnosis.
In the mean time, he was trying to get a car rented for the week, and Enterprise kept telling him, �Oh, we�ll have it at this time.� He would call back at that time, and they still wouldn�t have it. He finally got it yesterday at 12:30 and it�s a great little car. It�s a Chevy Malibu Aveo, makes me want a new car NOW!!
We were on the road to Frankenmuth by 12:45. Lunch at the Bavarian Inn=Delicious! We wandered around the gift shops afterwards, and I found�an Abominable Snowman night light!!! I will get a pic up soon. The best part, I got it for 30% off because it was the display! Go me! I also picked up some Stollen bread for Bro, he loves that stuff.
We headed over to River Place after that. Of course we had to stop at Bead Haven, just to see if they had anything new, which they did. I was able to pick up some teal seed beads that match some other teal beads I have. Teal is starting to be my other favorite color. Oh, and I got some Isis incense sticks.
The we hit the Yankee Candle Shoppe so I could use me $10 coupon. I got Butter Cream and Mandarin Cranberry tealights for mom, and some Storm Watch ones for me. And I was very distraught to find out that Storm Watch is being discontinued!! What the hell are they thinking? That is in my top 5 favorite fragrances. So tomorrow when I get paid, I�m hitting the two stores in town that carry Yankee, and buying up their stock of Storm Watch. Cousin, if you make it to the store out by you, can you hook a sister up? Thanks babe, you rock!
Then we meandered over to the popcorn shop, and got some Pop Nots. If you�re clueless, they are the half popped kernels of corn. Those are the Best Thing Ever. I always save those to eat last when I make a bag.
Onto Bronners we went. It was fairly busy. It seemed there were several school groups of kids running around. And yelling. And generally being annoying. The whole purpose of the trip was to get a new ornament for Baby Girl. I�ve gotten her a new one every year since she was born. I found a very cool, pink glass ball, with �New Big Sister� written on it, and then I had them put her name and year on it. Now I realize, she�s not really a big sister until next year, but it�s close enough, and she knows what�s going on. I also picked up for me another frog ornament. You can never have to many frogs on your tree. Bronners is also carrying Colonial Candles of Cape Cod, and they had a scent called White Poinsettia, yummy! I picked up a tart of that for my tart burner.
We hit the road around 5 to come back home. We came thru Bay City, I wanted to stop at Gypsies to see if they had any more of the Triple Goddess oil that I love so much. They were out, but I talked to the owner and she said next order she placed, she would order that in. YAY! From there we stopped at Mr. Hot Dog for some coney dogs. They have the best coneys ever. I had a couple for breakfast this morning.
When we finally got back to my house, it was a little after 6, and we had decided we were going to go look at Christmas lights. We drove around town for close to 5 hours!! We actually hit about � of town. It was so awesome, we were talking and laughing, and making jokes left and right about so many things. During the cruise around town, I mentioned that it would be good to stop by Meijers and get some Peppermint ice cream. So we did. Talk about annoying�there were only three checkout lanes opened, and the lines to check out were three deep. We stood in line for 15 minutes to pay for ice cream and some donuts. Nice.
Work was pretty quiet today. I left at 11 to come home and do a load of laundry, and make the wreath for Jill. She loved it! She told me that if I can make things like that, she�s going to start giving me more design jobs to do. Oh, and I got a Christmas bonus today! It wasn�t huge, but nice enough to get something special, maybe I will even go tomorrow and see what�s out there.
Oh, and Bro, SIL and I bought mom and dad a new refrigerator for Christmas, their anniversary, and Mothers Day and Fathers Day for the next year. The one they have is over 35 years old, and we have been struggling to figure out what to get them this year. So a new fridge it is! Not really sure how they are going to like it, but it�s better to be proactive and get them something before the old one dies, and they can�t afford to buy one since dad still is unemployed.
Since I don�t have to go and buy anything else for anyone else, but me, I got all my wrapping done tonight. Although, I�ve misplaced one of the candles that dad bought mom. I think it might be in the car, under the passenger seat. I just need to find it.
So they are saying on the news that electricity rates are going up. Well, der. We�ve been hearing that for the last three months. I�m not going to watch the news to see how much. I just pay it. And it helps that I keep my thermometer set at 67, and if I get cold, just wrap up in a blanket!
Well, with that, I think I will go get in the jammers, and go to bed. I still have to figure out if I want to go shopping in the morning. If I go, it will be first thing. And I have to make that mint chocolate cheesecake pie for tomorrow�s dinner. Really should have done it tonight�