Winter Chill...
Day of decorating
(2005-11-25, 9:09 p.m.)
I know that most people use today as the start of their Christmas shopping, but not me. I use the day to decorate my house for the holidays. I do have to admit, I stopped at Jo-Ann's because they had tree on sale that I've wanted for a while. It's one of those 6' pre-lit stick tree. I have that in the back corner of my porch, I've put purple bows on the tree, and a lighter hued garland around it. I've also left my purple mini lights up.
Oh sorry, back to my stop at Jo-Ann's. A zoo. They only have two registers there, and the lines were about 10 deep of people waiting to check out. I wandered around trying to find the tree, and when I did, there were only 2 left. I got in line, and lucky me, some douchebag and here three kids got behind me. Why was she a douchebag? Because her damn kids couldn't keep their hands to themselves. Touching this, picking up that. 15 minutes in line listening to her yapping at her kids. Reason #4463 why I don't normally do the day of shopping thing.

I got home, and took care of the halloween/thanksgiving stuff outside, and put out the tree. Looks awesome. I started working inside, after lunch. I have the tree up, and I'm not sure if I'm liking the dark purple lights. There are 500 lights on the tree, but it's not bright like my other purple. So I haven't decorated the tree, just put the lights on. I'm going to sleep on it tonight, but I will probably put my other lights back on.

The cats have been interested in the tree. I've used half a bottle of water squirting them to keep them away. I googled cat deterrent and several people suggested using cayenne pepper. Are you fucking nuts? They said that cats can gouge out their eyes. Again, are you fucking nuts? Yes, I don't want my cats to get into the tree, but using cayenne pepper? Someone also suggested cats don't like coffee grounds, so I might try that. Anyone else have any suggestions?

I made candied yams to take to mom and dads yesterday. I got the recipe off of Emeril Live. It called for 8 sweet potatoes, but I only had room for 7 in my pan. Which turned out okay, because I had a lot left over. So much, in fact, that I've frozen them to use at my Winter Solstice Celebration.

Oh, little side note. I invited Annie to come to the celebration. She wanted to asked me a question, and I jumped in and said she could bring a date. She kind of shrugged and said he really wasn't a date, so I said, you want to bring Mark. She said yes, but then she wanted to know if Kristen was going to be there. Ah...so I get the feeling they both have issues with Kristen. Which I kind of figured, I guess I didn't think it was that bad. I don't know if he is coming, but I hope he does. Thankfully, Kristen will be skiing out west that weekend of my party.

In talking with with Kristen Wednesday, she mentioned going bowling tonight. Well, that didn't happen. I guess her and her friends just wanted to rent a movie. I was invited, but I would rather stay home in my jammers, watching Monk! So tomorrow, Kristen and I are thinking about hitting the mall so I can get a my new jeans. But, and this is a big but, it will depend on what time we both get up and get motivated. She has plans with her family in the mid to late afternoon, and I want to finish getting the tree decorated.
Well, it's snowing right now, I think we might get anywhere from 1-3 inches if I remember right.
That about covers things for the last couple days. Dinner was good yesterday. Zeke went with me, and made corn bread something...it was like that stuff you used to get at Chi-Chi's with you dinner. Yummy stuff! Mom also made saurkraut. Not quite as good as mine, it wasn't as sweet as I normally make it, but good nonetheless.

Now I have a feline beastie snoozing on my arm, making it hard to type! I guess it's time to say goodnight!