Winter Chill...
Day 1 of Jury Duty
(2005-11-29, 12:09 a.m.)
So all my little thoughts of "Please don't pick me, please don't pick me, please don't pick me" didn't do a damn bit of good. I had to go this morning for jury selection. It's a criminal case, so they need 13 jurors. Call them up, yay for Sara, she doesn't get picked!! We have to sit and wait while the prosecutor and the defendant's attorney, ask questions about certain things that are relevant to the case. I wish I could tell you some of the answers by the members, but I'm not supposed to talk about the case until afterwards.
But anyway, after excusing this person and that person, I got called. Shit. I go up, and answer their questions, and then they called one more person to replace the woman next to me, and boom, we had a jury. One of the cool things, a girl I went to school with, and we were drivers training buddys, is on the jury too!
There is just enough time for the prosecutor to do his opening statement, and then we have lunch recess from noon to 1:30. Which is nice, I can run home and feed the felines and get my stuff gather for going into work after duty.
The judge thinks that the case will be presented to us in three days, then we get to deliberate. We could have a verdict on wednesday or it could go into thursday. It's actually nice to go into work with part of my day already gone. I wouldn't be opposed to streching this out!!
The only bad thing about this, no afternoon nap!! So I pretty well beat, and it's only monday!
After I left the courthouse, I had to run to the tile shop and try to fax something for dad. Well asshat saw me, and called me. Jesus Christo! He tells me that he's moving into an apartment after the holidays. I asked him where he was living now, and he tells me he's all over the state because of work, he really doesn't live anywhere. But, just now thinking about this, he said his son is coming home for the holidays, so where are you going to be staying if he is here? Damn should have thought of that sooner! I said to him that I had heard that line before, so I believe it as soon as I see it. Then he tells me he wants to have a sit down and talk when he's in his apartment. I told him to call me when he's moved in, and I would talk to him. Just so you know, I have no intention of having a sit down with him, I figured it's better to just play along and let him think that, then he won't bother me as much. Because I know that he will never do what he says he's going to do.
Okay, time to hit the sack, another long day tomorrow!