Winter Chill...
Update for Turk
(2006-01-03, 11:51 p.m.)
For those of you who are just reading, my nephew , Newbie/Turk,(see following paragraph) was born this morning at 7:54, 8 pounds 5 oz, 20 1/2" long.
I went to see Newbie, who I'm going to re-name Turk. Just a little background, when SIL was pregnant with Baby Girl, Bro was sure it was a boy. One of his favorite movies is Hollywood Nights, and there is a character name Newbomb Turk in the movie. So we called Baby Girl Turk, until she was born. Not a good nickname for a cutie patotie.
I called Bro when I got to work, and told him to come down and have lunch with me, and he did. I had a few minutes to kill before I had to go back to work, so I went up to see Turk. SIL's brother and his family were there, so I only stayed a couple minutes, I was planning on coming back when mom and dad showed up.
I walked into the room, and Baby Girl looked at me, and asked me if I was a doctor. She's 3. How freaking smart is that little shit?
Now this just annoyed me a bit. Mom and dad got there around 6:20, and SIL's mom, dad and sister had gotten there about 5 minutes before. Dad walks in, and asks if the crew was there. I told them who just showed up, and he got all pissy and said "I'm just going to look at the kid and leave." What the fuck dad? It's their daughter. Why wouldn't they want to come and see her? You don't have exclusive rights to her and the baby.
We walked into the room, and SIL's sister was sitting in a chair with BG sitting next to her, holding Turk. BG wanted to make sure we knew she was holding the baby.
Lots of picture taking was involved, of course. BG was getting a bit rambunctious, so we took a walk and ended up at the OR. She loves riding the elevator. She pretends she's loosing her balance, and streches her arms out and says, "Whoooooaaaaa". Freaking cute!
I stuck around for half an hour, then it was back to work. :-( I told Bro to make sure BG is there tomorrow afternoon, I want her to come have lunch with me. SIL will probably go home Thursday, but she could stay 4 days if she needed it. Mom and dad were there for about half an hour, but dad was only in the room for maybe 15 minutes. He wanders. Doesn't matter what he's doing, or where he's at, he roams.

On the home front, I called the park manager today and asked her nicely to tell that asswipe next door to quit playing his music so loud I could hear it in my house. He would have it so loud that I would hear the bass, and he would play it until midnight or later. What a douchebag. Hopefully that has taken care of the problem, if not, next time, the cops are getting called.

That pretty much covers the excitement of the day. I do have some issues with my dad's side of the family, but that will be addressed later this week.
Later gators...