Winter Chill...
.....
(2006-01-30, 11:43 p.m.)
Have you ever gotten a phone call, and with in the first two sentences from the other party, you know what they are going to say?

It happened to me today.

If you recall, back in November/December, I sat on a jury, a man was charged with three different counts of criminal sexual conduct. We found him guilty on all charges.

My friend Pam called me today while I was at work. All she had to say was, "I've got something to tell you", and I knew. He committed suicide this weekend. His parents had gone over to his house to see him, and they found him. He left a note saying he didn't want to be a burden to his family. He was supposed to be sentenced this Friday.

Pam's husband works at the same company as he did. She had forwarded me some emails from the staff members about him. They were writing letters to the judge, pleading for leniency, and his attorney was appealing the case.

I'm dumbfounded. My mind has been in overdrive today thinking about him. Did he do it because he felt guilty for his actions, or was he just a weak person who wouldn't be able to handle jail time.

Pam made the comment that we(the jury) were presented with the evidence, and we made out decision based on that, and we can't start second guessing what we did, but how do you not? Granted, in the end we are all responsible for our own actions, but were our actions the catalyst for him to do it?

I can't help but think so.