Winter Chill...
Quilt day!
(2006-11-05, 12:53 p.m.)
I went a little hog wild at the grocery store today. But, I'm tired of paying for crappy food at the hospital, so I bought stuff to make and take to work. I always have breakfast, but lunch is sometimes a hit and miss thing. So I loaded up on breakfast stuff too. Then I headed to Jack's to get some more meaty stuff. I'm in the process of cooking brats up for the week right now.
I'm working 9-1 at the tile shop every day but Friday this week, and then typical shift at the hospital. It's going to be a long week!
Many moons ago, I got a cross-stitch book that had all of the zodiac signs in it. Over the years, I stitched all of the designs. Then I thought, how cool would it be to make them into a quilt? Here's what one looks like.

Photobucket - Video and Image Hosting



I decided to add some extra touches, the glyph for the sign is in the top left corner, looking at the pic, the opposite sign glyph is in the bottom right, the ruling planet is the top right, and the metal for the sign is in the bottom left. I also used the colors of the signs to do the little corner squares. So all in all, it's pretty cool...except that mom and I are having a hard time lining things up. That gold lame fabric isn't the easiest to work with. So this afternoon, I'm going to rip apart what we have done. Yes, that totally blows, but I want to get this quilt done, before I start on my fat quarter quilt.
And finally...really...how darn cute is this?

Photobucket - Video and Image Hosting



That's Eli on top, Lu in the middle, and Onyx on the bottom...