Winter Chill...
Just got paid
(2007-05-08, 11:22 p.m.)
Well...I upset Chris tonight. Not in a bad way, he's angry for me, how does that sound? Today was payday from the tile shop, and I've been curious as to what Jill is paying Carrie. The couple of times Jill and I have talked about Carrie, and if she's going to stick around, Jill always says how she can't afford to pay her what she's worth. Carrie has a degree in architecture, and why she wants to work at the tile shop is beyond both of us.
Anyway, while Jill was doing payroll, I snuck a peak to see how much she's making. Yes, as I'm sure you can imagine, it's more than what I'm making. What does annoy me about the situation, I've been there for 10.5 years, and I'm still making single digit dollar. Not to toot my own horn, but damn it, I run that store. It's probably been 3 years since I've had a raise. A little nibble would be nice once in a while. Now maybe once she gets the big check from the ball diamond job, she'll give me something, but I'm not holding my breath. You know, maybe she thinks that since I have the shithole job, that I don't need to be making X amount of dollars. I don't know. What really did torque my gears though today, Jill told me that when Carrie is around, I need to show her things. Apparently Carrie called her the other afternoon, because she didn't know how to write up a receipt. You're paying her double digits, and she can't figure out how to write a receipt? Okay....
I was just watching Salem. She doesn't drink like a normal cat. She dips her paw in the water bowl and then licks it. It's really kind of cute.
SIL called me today, she needs me to watch the kids on Sunday. I figure I'll load them in the car, and take them over to see their grandparents, since it's Mother Day/Dad's b-day weekend. If I don't have to work on Saturday, I'm going to go buy an air conditioner. If you remember, late last summer, my central ir unit died. To get a new one, it would be to the tune of $1300-1500 dollars. Which is way more than I have. Yes, I know, that's what budgeting is for. And I did do that. But more important things came around. Anyways, I digress. I found the one I want, it's at Lowes. According to the website, it isn't available for purchase online. I'm going to the store and see if they can order it in for me. When I walked into the house tonight, it was 84 degrees. That's hard on the beasties. I don't think it's going to be to bad the rest of the week.
One of my favorite bands is playing Friday night at a bar really close to me, so after work I'm going out to see them for a bit.
I know, I'm jumping all over the place. Not much else to report, so I guess it's time to retire!!