Winter Chill...
Sunday Sunday Sunday!
(2007-05-30, 11:25 p.m.)
Sunday! Sunday! Sunday!
I woke up to my alarm, but when I looked out the window, it was gray and raining. Not the kind of weather you want to go riding roller coasters. I got up, and headed into the kitchen, it was time for breakfast. I was cooking my bacon like there was no tomorrow, and suddenly the smoke alarm went off! It was crazy. There was no smoke anywhere in the house. Stupid smoke alarm. On the plus side, it got Chris' ass out of bed. I went to make my eggs, and I think the eggs he had in the fridge had been there since 1978. Off to the grocery store we went. I also picked up stuff to make my fabulous sausage spinach two sauce lasagna for dinner. After breakfast, he decided that it would be better to wait to go to Michigan Adventure, when the weather was better. It has stopped raining, but it was still gray, and a bit windy.
Okay, fine, we'll figure out something else to do. His great idea was to go back to bed.
For two and a half hours!! I was a bit annoyed to say the least. I got the lasagna made, ran his dishwasher, and...lo and behold, 45 minutes after he went back to bed, it was sunny and clear skies. I finally texted him around noon to tell him I was bored. He got up, and showered, and we were on the road to Holland. He took me to Windmill Island, but it was 7 bucks a person to actually go on the island, so we passed on that. We were able to find a park not to far, and I was able to get some great pics of the windmill. From there, he took me here. We didn't go into it, but there where some shops outside the grounds and we did a little shopping there instead. This was a really great place! I'm totally going to get one of the candles. We watched one of the artisans dip and carve a candle. Way cool stuff! The wax that is cut away, they use to form mushrooms. Chris bought me a really cool on that is white, lavender and light blue mix. There was also an outlet shopping center right next door, so we drove around that. We come up to a place and Chris says it's a Chinese buffet restaurant. I see a neon sign in the window, and I thought it said, MMM Buffet. So in my best Asian voice, I say, "MMM Buffet!" Chris starts laughing, because it was called MNM Buffet. But you can see where I might be confused! That was the phrase of the day.
From there we headed out to the Pier, but it was at a state park, and to go walk it, it would have been 6 bucks. So we turned around and headed up to Grand Haven. We took the scenic route along the shoreline...and wowser! Some of the houses on the way...Oh to have enough money!
We made it to Grand Haven and wow...busy busy busy! We found a parking spot about a mile away from the pier there, so off we went walking. I was really surprised that there weren't a lot of people on the beach. Could have been because it was pretty windy coming in off the water. Anyways, we walked the pier, and I got lots of great pics. (Sidenote, I am going to create a Flickr account, I just haven't had a lot of time to do it!)
I think we hit Fruitport by 7, and hooked up with Traci and her BF Jason. It was nice to see her, since it had been a few months since she moved to GR. They wanted to ride some more rides, and we needed to eat, so we went in different directions. Chris and I had decided we wanted to take a paddle boat ride on Spring Lake, and that started at 8. Food was had, and jackets were procured from the Element. It's a damn good thing we got them too! It was pretty cold on the boat. Granted, we sat right up front, and on the way out, we were facing into the wind.
I thought the houses on the drive from Holland to Grand Haven were huge and beautiful. I can pretty much say with confidence, that there is not a house on Spring Lake for less than a half a million dollars. And yes, I took lots of pics of peoples house.
We hooked back up with Traci and Jason and took the car to Jason's grandma's house, and then walked down to Jason's aunt's house. He's originally from Fruitport. Several beers were consumed between Traci and I, and lots of gabbing while we waited to go to Jason's great uncle's house. They have one of the house on the lake. The half hour fireworks show was awesome! I'm kicking myself in the ass for not taking my camera, but I probably would have lost it after having one too many beers.
Traffic is pretty crazy after the fireworks, so we went back to the aunt's house for a bit to wait it out. About a half an hour later, we were on our way back to Chris'. When we got back, it was pretty close to 1am, so we both crashed pretty hard. I do have to say, I didn't have a hangover in the morning. Which really surprised me.
So that's it for Sunday fun! Oh...we did talk about a trip in August during one of our drives. Since we are going to see Dave on August 23, we are talking about camping somewhere down there. With a trip to the Detroit Zoo one day, a Tigers game one evening, and the RenFest another day. We're just in the planning stages, it will all depend on how his job search goes, and if he finds something.
I had the trifecta today, so I'm pretty tired. Monday festivities tomorrow!