Winter Chill...
A day on the Rifle River
(2007-06-24, 8:39 p.m.)
Today was the day of the famous tubing down the Rifle River trip. I had a really good time....except for the tree incident. What's that you ask? Well, for some reason, there are many places in along the river, where trees have fallen, and no one had removed them. So on multiple occasions, we would get hung up on the trees. It seemed like it was always happening when I was in the lead. Mind you, at one point, all 12 of us, plus our three cooler tubes were attached together. So there we were, floating gently down the river, and I see a tree or two that was tangled up, coming up. I'm trying to warn everyone, so that we can get prepared to push off, and hope the current would take us back out to the middle.
Yeah, that did not happen.
Somehow, I get up to the tree and I'm trying to push off, and someone comes up behind me, and with the force of their tube, and the current, I'm flipped over backwards out of my tube, into the water, with people still going over head of me. I'm trying to come up, and I can't, the current is pulling me down the river, and taking some skin from my knee and hand in the process. I finally got to a place where I could stand up, and get back into my tube.
And the best part...I never lost my sunglasses.
Yep, I've got it going on.
That was the only time I fell out of my tube, but Cousin fell in 4 times! Eventually I got tired of being attached to everyone, so I untied myself, and started moseying down the river alone. It was nice. Oh, and my jello shots went over very well!! We started out with 106 shots, and I think I brought home 25.
There was talk on the way home about going up to Au Gres later in the year, and tube down the Au Sable River. The only thing that scares me about that river, it's deeper, and faster. I think for something like that I'd rather be in a canoe.
Maybe.
So that was the day. My hips are starting to hurt from the tumble, as are my arms. What I did to my arms I have no idea, but they hurt none the less.
I have to be up early tomorrow to get donuts, and then be at the tile shop to get ready for the demonstration. I think we are going to have close to 20 people there. So another long day in the life of Sara. I was talking to the PT earlier. He tells me he thinks of me often, among other things.
I need to go watch some baseball...