Winter Chill...
World Class Walking!
(2008-11-25, 1:25 a.m.)
So today was the first official snowfall of the year. Which means all the assholes who drive SUV's and trucks think they don't need to obey the speed limit, and driving conditions. Thankfully I only went out to go to work and come home, so it wasn't too bad.
When I got home, I noticed my new neighbor wasn't home, so I decided to shovel the driveway. I really enjoy doing that at night. I like the lack of noise when I'm out there. Took me a whopping 15 minutes, and I was done!
Work on the other hand, sucked! Everyday, I have to walk over to the ambulatory surgery center to fill their machine. It's roughly a 10 minute walk one way. Okay, not a big deal. I don't mind the walk, it's really help shape my calves over the year. As soon as I got back, ER called, they used both of their crash carts, and needed them replaces. That is about a 5 minute walk one way. When I got there, they had one cart ready, but they were still working on the person in the one room. So back to the pharmacy I go. About an hour later, they call, they are having trouble with the machine not dispensing Demerol, and they were out of IV Cipro. Now mind you, there is another tech that I work with, but she fell today and knocked her hip out, so she wasn't really in shape to walk. So hey, guess who gets to go back to ER?
Me.
I go, fix the machine, stock the Cipro, and drop off the crash cart from before. I do my delivering upstairs, and when I come back, ER had called. Apparently they needed one of the crash cart changed, because they used it again.
Are you freaking kidding me? So I haul my ass back there. For the third time. Oh, and big surprise, they didn't need it changed, they just needed it locked. Which, if they would have called for a black lock, we could have tubed it there, instead of me walking down there. So I'm hoping that I'm done with going down there for the night, but why would anything go right for me?
At 10, EMS calls to tell us that they 5 used black boxes and only one unused, with an ambulance coming in. Oh sweet jebus. So for the fourth time, I walk down to ER to exchange black boxes.
My feet are killing me! I'm glad I have tomorrow off, to do nothing if I don't want to.
I do think I might want to go and get some more shopping done. I know what I'm going to get Bro and SIL, and now that I think about it, mom too. Hell, I could have everything done before Thanksgiving!
Whoohooo, go me!