Winter Chill...
The Day After
(2005-07-09, 2:45 p.m.)
Okay, let me start this be telling you about my day with Kristen in Frankenmuth! The day started out great, of course, she was late, which I should have planned on. She needed to put gas in the Beemer, and I'm not sure what she was thinking, but she took the long way, an extra three miles, to get to the gas station, when it was only a half a mile from my house! She is too funny! So we ended up in Frankenmuth a little after 11 and had lunch. Yummy Yummy Yummy! After lunch, we wandered up and down main street, stopping in the shops, checking out everything. We really didn't get a lot until we hit River Place. It's a really cool series of shops that are set up in an odd shaped circle, and they are some neat stores. The ones that I was interested in were the Yankee Candle Store, and Bead Haven. I could have laid down some serious cash in Yankee, but I keep remembering all the damn candles I have in my freezer that are waiting to get burned! So I just picked up a three wax tarts and two car freshners. Then we hit Bead Haven. Oh my Goddess! They actually moved to a bigger store, so there was a lot more beads to for me to look at! Yikes! I finally selected some dark, dark teal glass beads, and some lighter teal glass beads. I was looking for some accent colors in the smaller glass seed beads, and really didn't find anything I liked, but Kristen found some mixed seed beads in the teal colors, along with some great greens! They match perfectly. I also grabbed some gold seed beads, those looked really nice with the others also! So 23 dollars later, I've got some cool new beads to play with! Then we hit Bronners, which is a HUGE store devoted to Christmas. Wandering around, I found one of my favorite candle scents,(I know, stop with the candle buying), it's the Bridgewater Candle Company Mountain Laurel scent. If you are ever out and about and find it, smell it. It's great! Well, go me, there were on clearance! So, I just had to buy the biggest jar they had. I'm burning it right now, and the house is smelling oh so good! I think we left Frankenmuth around 5, and made it home by 6. We were going to stop in Bay City for dinner, but I was really in the mood for a Bennigan's mushroom burger, and who knows when I'll be able to eat one again! Oh yeah, and I got to drive the Beemer home. What a sweet car! Kristen's parents are going to be selling it to her, I wish I has some extra cash to buy it! Someday. So anyway, after dinner, we ran out to her house, and then stopped at mine, and then we went to my brothers for a bonfire. It was nice. Baby Girl was really happy to see me! We were there for a couple of hours and both Kristen and I were yawning. We got back to my place and she ended up falling asleep on the sofa, but as I was turning the lights off, she woke up and decided to call her mom to let her know she was just going to spend the night here. Which was a better idea, that way I could get her butt up, and know that we wouldn't be late!
So the morning of the surgery, I was up by 6:15 and got her but up at quarter to 7, and we actually made there on time! I had to fill out some more papers, and then I had three pages of after surgery care that I had to read! Holy cow! They took me back by 7;30, asked me a few more questions, got me hooked up to the blood pressure machine, the pulse ox machine and heart rate monitor. So Nikki tells me that she's going to put the chair back, and she puts this oxygen mask on my nose. Kind of uncomfortable, but not to bad. She leaves, and I'm doing my breathing in, breathing out execises, and then in come my doctor. He tells me that he is going to start my IV, and it takes less than 30 seconds and it's done! I asked them if the oxygen thing was going to stay on my nose, they told me yes, and I was asleep. I remember coming out of it, I heard them clanking the instruments in a basin and then I remember my doctor saying something about his wife, I was heartbroken :-( I think I sat there for a bit longer, coming in and out, then Kristen was in there with me. They moved me to a different room, and I'm not sure how long I was there. It was about 10 when the doctor came back in, told me everything went great, take the first two or three days for bed rest, and then a few days of just taking things easy, no over doing it, I sould be okay. I had three perscriptions to be filled, so we hit the pharmacy that my sister in law works at. I'm standing at the counter, and suddenly I have blood dripping down my chin, nice, really attractive! We get that taken care of, and head home. Kristen drops me off, and she ran home to take a shower, and I took a nap. The numbness finally wore off by 3:30, so I was finally able to eat something. Which, I'm one a soft food only diet for at least a week. Gosh, and what am I hungry for, Burger King. Double cheese burger, or a whopper...mmmmmm. When Kristen came back, she brought me some yogurt, applesauce, a banana, and a couple of instant breakfast drinks. She stuck around until 7:30, and I rested. I think I went to bed about midnight, and slept pretty good.
Mom came over this morning and we took my trash out, and then I had a bunch of errands to run, so she drove my butt all over town. Do you know how awful is it to go grocery shopping when you can only have soft food, and everything that's not soft looks good? Awful! So we picked up some more yogurt, cottage cheese, jello, some cream of mushroom, and tomato soup, and of course, orange sherbet push-ups!
So under my chin, and along my jawline, I'm really sore today, and a bit swollen. Dad said I look like I went 12 rounds with Mike Tyson, thanks Dad! Well....I think it's time for a nap, that last Vicodin seems to be kicking in...