Winter Chill...
Little Reception Story and Other Things...
(2005-03-06, 10:01 p.m.)
Well...last night was the reception and it was very nice. The food was great, music was a bit loud during dinner, and there were like 30 children under the age of 5 there. I swear I don't think I've ever seen that many rugrats at a reception. There were ballon bouquets on the tables that lasted all of 30 minutes. The cool thing was, they really liked my candle idea from the shower and went and bought more candles and had them on the tables. Something that kind of confused me....there was one enterance to the hall. Not a big deal, except you had to walk thru the bar area to get to the main room and you could smoke in that area. There was a big sign that said "No Smoking Past This Point". Sorry, but last time I checked, smoke doesn't just stay in one place, it migrates. I personally think its rather stupid that they don't want people smoking in the main area, but in order to get to it, you have to walk thru a smokey room. As for the music, I think there must be a standard wedding set that is played. He was playing all the same music that was at my cousins' wedding 5 years ago. And it almost seemed to be in the same order. They did the dreaded Hokey Pokey and Chicken Dance right at the start. I vow here and now that if I get married, there will be no Hokey Pokey and Chicken Dance. That shit drives me nuts. Oh yeah, I know Bob Seger is a Michigan icon, but I dislike "Old Time Rock and Roll" and that will not be played at my wedding also. I will make the DJ sign a contract to not play that if I have to!
So today was spent just vegging and doing laundry. The weather was rather nice, I had the front door opened for a bit. It's supposed to start raining after midnight and get rid of some of this snow, but then by tomorrow afternoon be snowing again. WTF? Mother Nature needs to make up her mind.
I had that new Chicken Bacon Ranch sub from Subway tonight for dinner. Toasted too. It was okay. I still think I have a lack of taste. Maybe permanently damaged. Who knows.
Well, since I spent most of the day doing nothing, I'm pretty tired. My sister-in-law called today to remind that I'm watching my niece thursday and friday. Shit. Totally forgot. I don't have a schedule at the tile shop yet, so I should be okay in getting the time off. But I know I will have to work saturday.
And I came to some revelations last night at the reception, but those are for another entry. It can be difficult to write about yourself when you don't like to think you really are what you discovered. If that makes any sense, but it does to me.......