Winter Chill...
New kitties in the house....
(2005-09-24, 8:34 p.m.)
I took Baby Girl over to the parentals house today. We walked into the kitchen, and there was a cage with a white box in it, and wrapped up were two little black female kittens!!!! Awwww! But I was a bit confused...last I had heard, they didn't want any new kitties. They had gone to the pet food store, and that's where the got them. The story goes, the store had been having some issues with skunks. They had killed 10 of them, but there were still some floating around. Well, Steve, put out some liquid poison...and mama cat drank some and died. So they weren't sure how long the little ones had been without milk and warmth. And also, from what mom tells me, Steve was going to go drown the two kittens, but Cheryl wouldn't let him. I was rather pissed about that. I understand it's his story the he owns with his brother, Cheryl's husband, but you DO NOT drown anything...cat, dog, whatever. I guess what the plan is, mom and dad will basically be their mama for a couple of weeks, until they are healthy enough to go back to the store, and hopefully find good homes. Well...I know of a really great home. :-) The littlest of the two is so thin. You can fell the backbone on both of them, it really bothers me. I know mom and dad will do everything they can, and I know they will succeed to make sure they live. It was rather funny though. The littlest one, is so small, she can actually go thru the bars of the cage. And they are both strong enough to be able to lift themselves out of the box. So mom and dad found a bigger box, and they still climbed out of that one. Mom had gone and gotten some baby rice cereal, and she must have gotten an even bigger box at the store. So the babies are sleeping in a Vodka box! I'm feeling really bad too. If I would have know about them, I wouldn't have made plans to go to the Ren Fest tomorrow. I would have been happy to hang at the parentals, holding and loving and feeding the babies. It's a good thing I have tuesday and wednesday off from the tile shop. I told mom I would go over and help dad with them. I will try to get some pics taken tomorrow, I'm going over in the morning before we go to the Ren Fest.
It's time to go and get ready to go out for a bit...