Winter Chill...
Don't stop believin'
(2005-11-11, 11:58 p.m.)
I'm sure you have heard me mention my friend, Chris. We met over ten years ago, and we have been best buddies ever since then. Chris has a friend, Zeke, who he went to college with, and Zeke lived in Grand Rapids. Zeke had come to my town one weekend, and Chris introduced me to him, and we hit it off right away. Not in a romantic way, just as friends. Thru a series of events, Chris moved to Grand Rapids about 6 years ago, and about three years ago, Zeke moved to my town because he got a job at the hospital.

The first two months Zeke was in town, he stayed at my place. Eventually he got an apartment, and moved out. But we continued to do everything together. Dinner, movies, golfing, tennis, vegging at my house on saturday nights watching reruns of Law & Order:SVU.

In January 2004, the guys from Orange County Choppers were going to be at a motorcycle show in Bridgeport. We loved watching that show, so Zeke called and got two tickets for the event, and he put them on his credit card. Because I asked him to. I figured we could go and get right in, not have to wait in line. Tickets were 35 bucks a piece.

The day of the show, we had one hell of a snow storm. It had started friday night, and continued for close to 12 hours. I was originally going to drive, but with the snow, his truck was a better choice. So off we go.

It took us close to an hour to get there, and normally it's only a 30-35 minute drive. When we got to Bridgeport, the line to get into the parking lot was about a mile and a half long. It was a cluster fuck. We took one look at the line, looked at each other and decided to go to Frankenmuth instead.

I felt pretty bad, it was my idea to have him put the tickets on his card, since I didn't have one. I asked him if he could call his credit card company and see about getting the charge dropped, since we didn't go. He said he didn't know, but he would look into it. A few days later, I asked him again, and he kind of blew it off.

I came home from work one night to find an envelope stuck in my door. It was a note from him, telling me that he didn't want to hear about it anymore, and there was 40 dollars in the envelope too. I was pissed instantly. I only asked him because I wanted him to get the charges taken off his card. I never asked for the money back If they would have cancelled the charges, then sure, I would have asked for it back. I called him at work, and left him a voice mail. I wasn't mean, but I wasn't very nice either.

I saw him once this spring in the hallway, and we chatted for a few minutes. I told him to give me a call sometime if he wanted to come over and see the cats. I never heard from him. Which bothered me, but if he was still pissed, there was nothing I could do.

I saw him yesterday in the hallway, and he came up and gave me a big hug, and we stood in the hall for 30 minutes catching up. Then, he did something that I never thought would ever happen. He asked me what I'm doing next weekend, and if I wanted to do something with him.

I was floored.