Winter Chill...
Anniversary Party
(2005-12-11, 8:33 p.m.)
Chris came back to town this weekend for his parents surpise anniversary party. Their actual anniversary date is December 28th, and they have been married for 40 years! Wow!

I'm sure some of you are aware of Chris' tendencies to be late for things. He was supposed to be here by noon on Saturday, but he didn't leave Grand Rapids until then. His job was to watch his parents so they didn't go by their church, where the party was at. Well...his mom had to go to the church to see about some plastic ware for sunday. Sadly, she saw her son-in-law, and knew something was going on.

He called me at 2:30 to tell me he got the time wrong for the party. Originally he told me seven, but it was actually to start at five. So I'm taking a nap when he calls me, I was thinking I had plenty of time to get ready for a party at seven. He has to call his sister about something, so I get in the shower. About a half an hour later, he calls to tell me he's coming over to pick me up. Dude, I just got out of the shower, I need at least 30 minutes to get ready!! I'm in the bedroom getting ready, he gets here, and we walk out the door about 3:40. Damn I good!

We go over to his parents, and hang out until five. His mom was in the bathroom curling her hair, and when she was done, went to wash her hand. In the process, she sprays soap all over he sweater. So then we have to wait for it to dry. Now I know where Chris gets his quirks from.

We got to the church about quarter after 5 and his parents were very surprised! The had no idea it was an anniversary party, they thought it was a birthday party for his dad. (His birthday was last sunday.)

Dinner was various lasagnas and salads, and garlic bread. The wedding cake was awesome, it was about 4 inches thick, and layers of cake, custard, and raspberry filling. Yummy!

People were asked to tell stories about the lovely couple, and Chris talked about staying up late one night with his mom talking about the early days of their marriage, when they were living in the Philippines becuase his dad was in the Navy. I learned something about Chris last night, he was actually born in the Philippines. And they had him specifically to keep his dad State side after his tour.

The party was pretty much over with by 7:30, and we had things cleaned up by 8. We headed back to his parents house, to watch them open gifts. Chris' brother in law, wanted to go out and have a drink, but by the time everything was done, it was after 10 and everyone was pretty tired. Chris and left a bit later, and went and looked at some christmas lights, then hit Taco Bell for some late night goodness.

Chris did do something that really annoyed me last night. He was sitting on the sofa, and one of the kittens put his paws on the edge, and was sniffing at his burrito. Well Chris hit my Markus. I hate to use hit, because that sounds like it was violent, or hard, and it wasn't per se, but NO ONE hits my cats.
So I raised my voice to him and told him that NO ONE hits my cats. I think I surpised him a bit with that, but dammit, I will discipline my cats. I feel a little bit bad about getting on his case about it, but dammit, I wouldn't hit his dog.

So I got some shopping done yesterday. I have Baby Girl done, and I have a gift for Newbie. Need to get one more thing for Bro, and a couple of gift cards for SIL, that's all she wants, she can get some new clothes after Newbie is born. I will take care of Mom and Dad next paycheck from the tile shop. I do have a few things for other people, but I won't be celebrating with them until after the New Year, so I deal with that later.
Oh yeah, I have picked up four gifts for me. And the new battery doesn't count!! I know, I'm bad. There's still a couple other things I want to get, but that can wait too!

Well, I'm watching the football game, trying to keep Crockett from licking my hand. And I think I would like to do some crocheting tonight...
Later gators...