Winter Chill...
Power is back!!
(2006-02-19, 8:20 p.m.)
So...yeah...I haven't been around the last couple of days...because my power was shut off!! Apparently they need to shut it off for a couple of hours, to fix a transformer north of me. Two days later, they finally get it turned back on. Oh, and the really shitty thing, half the park had power the whole time. We are in the same park, but on two different transformers. What is up with that? When I got home friday night, it was down to 49 degrees in the house, and hovering around 10 outside. I threw four of my five extra comforters on the bed, grabbed the flashlight and went to bed. When I woke up on saturday, I have all 14 felines in bed with me. They kept me toasty all night. I only got about 4 hours of sleep that night. When I I got up and moving, it had dropped to 33 degrees in the house. All things holy, that's freaking cold!!

Mom came over and picked me up and took me to work in the morning. Now, I know you're asking yourself, why isn't she taking herself to work? Well...let me tell you a little story about my car, because we all know what a great car it is. Friday, I had to come home and get me check and hit the bank on my lunch hour. I get back to the hospital, turn the car off, and try to get out of my car. But the door had frozen shut. That's right, you heard it hear first, I was frozen into my car. Because, the other three doors haven't worked properly in a few months, so the drivers door is the only one that works. I'm sitting there, thinking about how I'm going to get out of the car. I try the lock/unlock botton several times, but that's no help. I laid down and proceed to kick the crap out of the door, hoping that might jar it loose, no such luck.
So I Dukes of Hazzard it.
I'm sure the security gaurds where having a ball watching the the fat chick trying to get out of her car. You might be seeing me on a episode of "Americas Funniest Videos". So the great thing about Duking it, that's how I had to get into the car when it was time to come home. Again, watch for video.
I get home to find the block black, which was a good thing. I really didn't want anyone to witness the greatest spectacle on earth, me trying to get out of the car again! Only this time it was even better, because, I almost lost my pants friday night getting out. I was wearing my way lose pants, and as I was getting out, they caught on the rubber of the window and as my butt is scooting, the pants aren't! It was a sight to behold! Oh, I have a beautiful bruise on the inside of my thigh, and one behind my knee from getting in and out of the car!
That's why mom got the joy of carting my butt around yesterday. So after she dropped me off, it was so boring around here. I crocheted for a bit, but once it got dark, there wasn't much I could do. I really wanted to nap, but I was using the oven to get some heat in the house, and I didn't want to fall asleep with that on. I was able to get the house warmed up to 55, before I went to bed. Which happened to be in the living room. I had two blankets wrapped around my waist, one on my shoulder, and then wrapped up in an comforter. I got three hours last night before I got too cold again.
My cell's battery was dying, so dad came and got me around 11 and I went over there to get it charged. According to the power company, the estimated restore time was 11:59 tonight. Not cool!!! There was no way I was going to be able to survive another night. I know, I could have stayed at mom and dad's but I really didn't want to smell like a cigarette. Mom and I decided to come back here for a bit, clean out the fridge, and turn the oven on to get some warmth in the house. We pulled up to the end of the driveway, and my porch lights were on!!!!!! Excitement! Happiness! Joy!! We got the fridge cleaned, trash taken out and a nice toasty house to boot! Mom and dad have told me that they are going to buy me a generator. I don't need anything to fancy, just enough to keep the furnace going if something like this ever happens again.
Mom has loaned me her car until tuesday. Hopefully by then the weather will warm up a bit, and we can get it unfrozen. If not, Zeke is going to have to cart my butt around. I'm tired, and I hope I can get a good night's sleep, I have to be up and take the boys to the vet at 8, and then it's off to work!!
I was able to get all my info saved to discs on friday before the power went out. Which it good. Dad has told me that he wants to look at the puter, he thinks he might be able to fix it for me.

Time for a little snack, and then some TV.