Winter Chill...
Snowball 2006 is gone!
(2006-03-05, 8:37 p.m.)
It's a long one, so buckle your seat belts!!

Those of you who have been reading me for a few months, know of Chris' lack of being on time. I was fairly certain that he wouldn't make it up in enough time for us to make it for the hayride. I was correct. He finally made it to my place around 5:30. Seriously, for the life of me, I don't know how the guy can actually live. How long can it really take you to get your stuff packed in a bag, and get on the road? From the time he got up, to the time he left Grand Rapids, it was four and half hours. What the hell can take so long? I mean, seriously, I had my stuff packed in 15 minutes. But anyway, since I know he was going to be late, I took a nap while I was waiting. Which was a good thing.
He finally made it and we threw the stuff in the car, and headed North.
The hotel I had called earlier in the morning said they had 5 rooms left, and I didn't need to make a reservation. Mistake. They filled up. We had seen a sign for another hotel, so we hit that, and they had a few rooms left. Let me just say, you get what you pay for. It's wasn't a bad room, but it wasn't a great room. We dropped out stuff off, and headed to resort. It was really pretty when we pulled up the the resort. Every cabin, and the main hotel had lights that lined the roof. And with the fresh snow that had fallen, pretty snowglow. By the time we got there, we had a drink and then dinner was served. It was a great dinner. We had tossed salad, cooked carrots, fired red-skinned potatoes, and then mashed potatoes and gravy, the tenderest pot roast ever, corn flake chicken, and baked ziti smothered in cheese and pepperoni. Oh and rolls. I love me some soft, fluffy rolls. The chicken was the bomb. Going to have to make that sometime soon.
After dinner, there were a few speeches, and then the gift give away started. Lucky me, I won some google grips, which I have no use for, so I gave them to Susan. Chris, the lucky shit, won a new steering system for his jetski from UMI. Which his boat already has, so he is probably going to sell it. That took about a half an hour, there was a lot of stuff to give away!
So, after that, there was a lot of mingling and chatting going on. The only negative thing I have to say about the resort, there was no lighting for the dance floor. There were a few overhead lights, but where the dance floor was, it was dark. So no dancing last night, except in my seat. We stayed at the hall until 11, and then headed over to Mike's cabin. Which was the bomb. I told Chris, that next year, we are getting a cabin. The back of the cabin looked out to the river, and there was a little deck there. You were actually in the living room of the cabin, which had a fireplace in the corner. Nice. There was a small kichenette and table in the opposite corner. The master bedroom had a jacuzzi tub in the room, totally unattached from the bathroom. Awesome.
Mike had some of his friends from Grand Rapids staying with him. Dusty and Kyle, TaNeil and Loren. Now the thing about Loren, he was pretty drunk the whole night. He was having trouble talking, big surprise, and he wanted to say "Canadians" but it came out "Cranadians." So we started adding "Cra" to everything. Which he thought was the best thing. TaNeil, his wife, pushed him off his chair a couple of times, and he was trying to say that his shoulder was hurting, but it came out "solider". So then we started teasing him about our soliders hurting us too. We had a good time!

Sorry, little break here, I'm watching the Oscars, and Charlize is on right now, and I really think her big bow on her solider is not very flattering. Oh my god, I crack myself up! I totally wasn't going for that pun!!

We left around midnight, and headed back to our hotel. Now the room has two double bed, but they were the most uncomfortable beds I've ever slept on. It's like there was a platform, the box spring, and then the mattress, which was only about 6" thick. And the pillows weren't much better. Got in my jammies, and tried to get comfy, which wasn't easy. I did bring my headphones, to drown out Chris' snoring. But it didn't help. He had surgery a couple years ago to have is tonsils taken out, and basically his sinuses augered out. I tried to fall asleep before he turned off the TV, but it didn't happen. As soon as the TV was off, he was asleep, and sawing logs like there was no tomorrow! I ended up going into the bathroom for a bit, hoping he would stop, but that didn't happen either. Basically I got a couple of hours sleep last night. We were on the road this morning by 8 to head home. Since Chris got a great nights sleep, he wanted to do something. I really wanted to sleep. We ended up having breakfast, and then we were going to go to the Home & Garden show, but we got sidetracked at Wally World. We bought some magazines, and came back here. He crashed in the front bedroom, and I fell asleep in my bedroom for a couple of hours. Which was better than not getting any. He finally left tonight, at 7, I took a shower, I'm doing laundry now, and watching the Oscars.
So that was my weekend. All in all, it was a good time. I sure did miss the cats though. They were happy to see me. Last night was the first night I has left them alone for a full night. The house is still standing.
As soon as the pics are up on the website, I will link to them. For now, I'm off to clean the litter boxes, and crash a little early tonight.