Winter Chill...
History of work
(2006-03-09, 11:52 p.m.)
There is one elevator that I use at work that will take me down to the basement, where General Stores is located. Tuesday night, I'm at the elevator, waiting for it to come down from D to C to pick me up. I'm standing off to the side, and my cart is kind of in the middle. The door opens up, and I see a pretty maroon sheet on a gurney with something under it. The security guard looks at me and tells me I might want to take the next one.
Well no shit Sherlock!
I'm not to keen on riding an elevator with a dead person. It's bad enough that I had to get on the damn thing afterwards!
When I first started at the hospital, I was in housekeeping and laundry. I had to clean the morgue out once. Which didn't bother me as much as I thought it would. I guess it would have been a different story if there would have been a body in there. The area that I really hated was the kitchen. It smelled like old grease, and garbage to me. Thank goodness I was only in housekeeping for 9 months, and then moved to Sterile Processing. Which had its own smell to it, especially in the Pit. Which was the area where the dirty surgical instruments were brought down, and cleaned. For me, blood smells coppery, and that's what the Pit smells like. Granted, you have instruments that are caked with blood and bone, and other things, it's going to smell like that, but it's a very strong smell that sticks to you.
Okay, enough rambling about work. Well, actually this is kind of work related, so deal with it. Today was the last weigh in day for the exercise/weight lose program. Drum roll please..... I have lost 16 pounds so far! I was the only one on my team to reach my goal! Go Sara, you rock! So I'm going to set a goal to continue losing 2 pounds a week, I should be 50 pounds lighter by the Fourth of July! Which I don't think is unrealistic. Two pounds a week is a good goal!
Okay, with that in mind, it's off to bed, I have to work tomorrow for Mike. Mo' money for Sara! Oh, speaking of which, I should have my new laptop by the time I have my surgery! Yeah! And that is only three weeks away! Getting very excited! About the computer, and the time away from work!
Later gators!