Winter Chill...
A favorite album of Sara's....
(2006-03-25, 8:30 p.m.)
Okay, in chatting with RDC tonight, I asked her how her CD contest was going. She said she didn't have any real entries yet, so I thought I would try to win her CD!
If you're to lazy to click on her link, she has a CD of Aussie Music that she is going to give someone, but you have to review your favorite CD. Then you also have to review the CD she sends you.
The problem is, I have a lot of favorite CD's. I could say something by Dave Matthews Band, and that would be true, but also way obvious. So for me to pick one, I have to go way back in time...okay, back to 1988.
I had heard "Bring Me Some Water", by Melissa Etheridge, on the Rock Station here in town, and thought, wow, this chick can rock! Yeah, there was Joan Jett, and Pat Benatar, but they were mostly played on the Pop station at the time. So I bought her album in cassette form,and LOVED it!!
She tells a story with every song, and I could see me being the star. From "Similar Features" a song about fantasizing about someone else when you are with the one you love, to "The Late September Dogs" about being cleansed by the rains, letting go of things that hurt us. "Precious Pain" is about how pain chains us, and how some find comfort in that pain, instead of letting go. Probably my favorite song on the album is "Watching You."
Cause if I can't love you,
I don't want to love you,
If I can't hold you,
I don't want to be thinking of you,
And if you don't want me,
I don't want to want you,
And if you won't see me,
I don't know what to do.
But oh, keep watching you,
Oh, I keep watching you...
Wanting someone so bad, you will stand out in the rain, give your last cigarette to a homeless man, just for a glimpse of them in the window. Yes, I know, very stalkerish, but who hasn't driven by an ex's house, just to see if they are there? I know I have.
Seriously, there is not a song on the album that I don't love, and doesn't speak to me. So if you even are looking for a good, soulful, talking to the heart,rocking album, check out Melissa Etheridge.
And with that...I'm off to grab something to eat!