Winter Chill...
Fun-filled weekend!
(2006-04-10, 4:18 p.m.)
Hey ho my peeps!
Not much shaking at the casa de Moon. Friday Zeke and I hit Frankenmuth even though it was a cold rain that was falling. We had lunch at Sullivan's Black Forest and it was great! I had the sampler platter, which had cheese sticks, buffalo wings, bbq ribs, and Willi's sausage. Willi's is a local meat market there. Zeke had bbq chicken breast, with a baked potato and cottage cheese. The bread that they brought out as a little appitizer...Yummy! Soft, warm, fluffy with a hint of garlic.
After dinner we hit RiverPlace so I could get my some new tarts at Yankee Candle. They have 10 new scents and I needed to get some for my tart burner. I've been burning the Vanilla Oak one the last couple of days...very nice. We stopped at Bead Haven, I also needed to get some Isis incense. I know what your thinking, why get tarts and incense? If Yankee made a candle that smelled like Isis I would!
After that it was off to Allyson's for the hair cut and highlights. She mostly trimmed it up, cut off the split ends, and then just gave me some brush in highlights. We were there for almost an hour. Came back home and Zeke dropped me off, he had to get back home and pack some more.
Saturday was the welcome home party for my friend Jim, and it was great! Jill and I went over together, and I paid off my debt for losing the tourney. $4.95 for a small glass of C@ptain Morg@n's and coke! Yikes! There were 220 people that RSVP'ed, but I'm going to say there were about 175 people there. I thought I was going to get all veklempt when I saw him, but I didn't. Dinner was great, tossed salad, potato salad, fruit salad, baked beans, scalloped potatoes, bbq pork or hamburgers, and bbq chicken. All very good. After dinner Jim got up and gave a little speech, and then we watched 4 videos that his unit had made while they were over there. Very cool to see some of the things they were doing. He's been home for 2 weeks, but he hasn't gone back to work yet. His wife is going to be running the Boston Marathon this weekend, I think, and so then he will be going back to work.
Physical therapy was fun today. I did all my exercises without the brace on. A couple of them still hurt to do, so I don't think I can go back to work just yet. I see the doctor on Wednesday, so I will find out then what he thinks.
After that, I came home and my friend Pam had called, so we were chatting and she was telling me she wanted to go to the Fabric Fair in Bay City. I was all over that, so she came over and picked me up, and off we went! I found a pattern there that uses fat quarters! It just so happens that I have some that I bought last fall. See?

Image hosting by Photobucket



This particular pattern calls for 20, so I need to go grab some more. The really cool thing, mom and I are going back to Fabric Fair on saturday, I can get the pattern book 30% off, since it's my birthday on sunday! The fat quarters there at $2.25, but at Jo-Anns they are only $1.50, so that's where I'll be getting the rest of them. I'll just have to stop using my sewing machine as a end table, and start using it for what it was made for!
So with that, I'm off to find something to eat! Thank goodness tomorrow is payday!