Winter Chill...
Chainsaw in a tree
(2006-08-12, 10:27 p.m.)
I received a frantic call from mom today at work.
"Sara, please come over after and help us get the chainsaw out of the tree. Your dad was cutting the branch and the saw got stuck. I'm afraid he's going to hurt himself."
Yeah, sure, I'll come over and help. I pulled up the the house, and they are just standing there smoking cigarettes, waiting under the tree.
I must say, my dad really knows how fuck things up. Instead of cutting some of the smaller branches off first, they just went for the jugular right off the bat.
Well after 30 minutes of trying to pry it out of there, mom had the bright idea of calling Bro. Which she should have done long before I got called! But there was no way a damn tree was going to get the best of dad!!
If there is a video of us trying to get the damn saw out, I'm sure it's pretty funny! So if you see it, don't be too harsh on me! I know I would have been recording something like that if I would have seen it!
Finally Bro gets there, and within 5 minutes, has the branch down, and the saw rescued. Which was a life and death situation for dad. As soon as the saw was on the ground, he was preforming surgery on it, to make sure it still worked, while mom, Bro and I hauled the branches to the road.
After that harrowing experience, I followed Bro out the build site, to see the house! Holy cow, I must say, it's huge. They only have the basement done, and that is roughly 1500 square feet. When they are done, it's going to be a little over 3000 square foot house. Damn! And the location is great also. Out in the middle of nowhere, the silence was awesome when we were there.
After that, I came home, and have been vegging since. I talked with Jen, she doesn't want to go out until next saturday, so it's all good.
Tomorrow it's supposed to be beautiful, so I plan on being in the sun most of the day, until it time to go to the fair with Bro and the family. Yeah, elephant ears, and cinnamon rolls here I come! Bro is afraid of another cinnamon roll incident like I had a few years ago. See, here's the thing. If I'm paying $4.50 for a roll, I want a decent sized one. Normally they are around 5-6 inches in diameter. The one that they were trying to give me was way smaller than that. Sorry, but that shit doesn't cut it, I want what I'm paying for. So I had a little "meltdown" according to Bro about a damn roll. Now I have to behave when I go out with them. Damn it!
Well the beasties need watering, so I need to go do that, and head off to bed!