Winter Chill...
Amish Auction and Karaoke party
(2006-09-03, 1:37 p.m.)
I had a great day yesterday! Tom made it to my house by 8:30 and we had to stop and get gas, then we were on our way. Thankfully, when we got there, we started in the back, and worked out way to the front. I hadn't found anything that I really needed at first. I did pick up a sweatshirt for mom that has a snowman on it, with a cardinal sitting on his shoulder, and it says, "Winter is for the birds". Mom hates wintertime.
Then I saw it.
It was a queen size furry velour-like blanket, with a huge sun in the center, and stars and moons floating around it. It's the same dark blue color that is in my room, and of course, the celestial theme!
So I bought it.
It's so awesome! I slept with it last night on the sofa! Kept me nice and toasty...well I had several felines with me.
Oh, I also found this guy who takes glass blocks, and paints them, then puts some christmas lights in, and it's a night light! I picked one up for Bro with the Michigan State Sparty on it. Mom will be the one to give it to him for christmas though. We wandered around for a couple of hours and then headed back to my place.
After Tom left, I laid down and took a two hour nap, before I had to get ready for the party. Since I had spent my beer money on my blanket, I had decided that I wasn't going to stay the night.
We got to the party about 6:30, and Tracy's boyfriend was having trouble getting his pop-up camper, to pop-up. It ended up that something came off track. So he was in a crabby mood the rest of the night. I don't like her boyfriend. He really seems to be quite the asshole. Just little things I saw him say or do to her. Then, at one point, her mom corners me and tells me I need to talk to her, and get her out of that relationship. I told her I would talk to Tracy, but I wasn't making any promises.
So the food was good. Sharon, one of the guests, was dutch oven cooking lasagna. So as I was walking out the door, she handed me a bowl and asked if I would like some. I said yes, because it was lasagna. Then, after it's in my hand, she tells me it's made with ground moose and moose sausage. Since I already had it in my hand, I really couldn't give it back. I have to say, it was very good. I never would have guessed it was moose, if I wouldn't have been told.
After dinner, the fire was burning bright, and the karaoke started. What fun! I don't karaoke, but we had some good songs sung last night. Jeff, did his William Hung version of "She Bangs", with an asian accent. I was so mad at myself for fogetting my camera. I stuck around until after 11, then headed home. I had to get to Meijers to get some stuff to make Eric his cookies today. Which I got done not to long ago. I found a recipe that uses a yellow cake mix to make cookies. So I used that and my chocolate raspberry chips to make cookies. I also bought chocolate peanut butter swirled chips and made cookies with those too.
So with that, I'm off to drop them off to him, and give some to mom and dad. Then I will probably come home and get some dinner ready.
Not sure what I'm going to do tomorrow. Probably head over to mom and dad's, I'm sure they will have some sort of cookout.
That's it for now!!!
Have a safe weekend!