Winter Chill...
MY Review of Smed's Holiday Goodness
(2006-12-23, 4:04 p.m.)
As I was one of the lucky 13 recipients of Smed's 2006 Holiday Goodness CD Colletion, I want to ensure there is no K-Fed under my tree this year. Here are my random thoughts of the CD's.
Holiday CD 1 starts off with a heavy, and I mean heavy, dose of Funk. For a song that has less than 10 words repeated throughout, "Get Off Your Ass and Jam" told you what to do, and by golly, you did it. Smed also put three other Funk songs on the CD, and I guess I'm not in the mood for Funk right now, so they really didn't do much for me, other than utilize my finger to hit the fast forward button.
I was happy to see some old Michael Jackson on there. "Don't Stop Until You Get Enough" is one of MJ's better, danceable tunes, before he got all weird.
Yeah...Frank Zappa and Captain Beefheart...that is way out there in left field for me. I had to forward that one too. I did like the second Zappa song, "Carolina Hard Core Ecstasy". The guitar is smoking hot, and I would probably lay down for anyone who could air it!
Ted Leo & The Pharmacists' "Little Dawn", another song with some smoking guitar, and the opening riff reminded me of "One Big Holiday" by My Morning Jacket. Definitely a group that I will be listening to more in the future.
I have previously received CD's from Smed with The Subways and Silversun Pickups, those are two bands that I've really grown to enjoy. Good song choice from both bands Smed!
Guillemots, Throwing Muses, and Drive-By Truckers...groups I've never heard before, but actually like all the songs that Smed put on there. This is the type of music I listen to normally, so more investigating will commence. I had listened to The Decemberists on Myspace, and wasn't to impressed with what I heard. But Yankee Bayonet(I Will Be Home Again) is a great song, so there might be some more looking into them.

Onward to CD 2. Now...I really don't have much to say about this one. I know Smed has a reason for what songs he's put on here, and all shall be revealed in the future. There are some highlights on it that I will briefly mention.
"2000 Miles" by the Prentenders. It's a good mellow Christmas tune that followed in the wake of Band-Aid, and the Beach Boys. "Waiting For The Bus/Jesus Just Left Chicago", now this is my kind of song! I love the guitars, the bluesyness, the soul of the song.
My favorite song on the whole CD is "Jesus Built My Hotrod" by Ministry. Granted, you can't totally understand what is being said, but who cares when you have such jamming going on? This is a song I would mix to someone.
There is a reason I don't have the Jesus Channels saved on my remote. "That's The Way God Planned It" by Billy Preston. If a song starts out like your watching Jesus TV, or you are in church...yeah...that one got fast forwarded too.
I do like "Jesus" by the Velvet Underground. It's not necessarily because of the words...I like the melody of the song. I'm glad to see that the Pagans REPRESENT with Mercury Rev's, "Goddess On A Hiway". Thanks Smed, it's a good song, very haunting to me.
Finally, "Christmastime Is Here" by Vince Guaraldi Trio. It's the only other song I would mix from this CD, and a good song to end a "Meh" CD.
So there you have it folks. My not so humble opinions and thoughts on Smed's Holiday Goodness CD Collection. I hope this review has been helpful in your quest to acquire the collection...now start groveling!!