Winter Chill...
enchilada meatballs
(2007-01-08, 12:51 p.m.)
For those of you who might be interested....here's my ehchilada meatball/loaf recipe...

1.5lbs ground beef
2C crumbled cornbread
1 10oz cans enchilada sauce divided
1 10oz can tomato sauce
Shredded Mexican blend cheese

Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Mix cornbread and half of a can of sauce in bowl. Crumble beef on top, and then mix well. Form into 1" balls, and place on cookie sheet, 1" apart. Bake for 18-22 minutes, or until brown and cooked thru the center. While the balls are cooking, take the remaining enchilada sauce and combine with the tomato sauce in a sauce pan and warm on the stove top. When balls are done, place in dish, and drizzle the sauce mixture over the balls, and then sprinkle with cheese.
Now when I make my meatloaf, I double the amounts, and use 2 cans of enchilada sauce, and not the tomato sauce. I cook it at 350 for at least 1.5 hours, and about half an hour before it's done, I pour the other can of sauce over the loaf to cook. I sprinkle the cheese over it, either before I slice, or after just depends on how cheesy I want it!