Winter Chill...
How does your garden grow?
(2007-05-05, 9:54 a.m.)
Whoa! This is a long entry about my gardens. I could say I'm sorry about it, but I'm not! I love being outside making my corner of the world looking pretty!
My yard and gardens are coming along swimmingly. I guess working out in them for 6 hours yesterday can do that. I'll have to take some pics, so you can see what I'm talking about, but I'm at work right now, so work with me.
Along the side of my driveway, there was a lilac bush and a wooden wishing well. They are both gone now, and I have put a kidney shaped garden there. Now don't get all crazy on me, the lilac bush was D-E-D ded! It hadn't bloomed in 3 years. I pulled the wishing well out, and under it was a stump. 20 minutes later after a little whacking with an ax, gone baby! Of course, there was an ant colony that was living in it. Sadly, I had to move them. What I'm going to plant in there after I can pull up the dead grass, is a butterfly bush, and some of this
stuff, only I have part of a butterfly roll left over from last year.
In the back of the house last year, I put a row of sunflowers. This year, I've extended it out about 6 inches. In each corner, I'm going to put an ornamental grass, and then more sunflowers between. I also extended it out to meet with the garden that runs the length of my bedroom. Again, before I can plant anything there, I have to wait for the grass to die.
In my last garden, which is in the middle of the back yard, I just added to it. I have some things coming up that I'm not sure what they are. I did add a delphinium, some lime green glads, a lavender plant, and my zebra grass. I will be planting some of the butterfly and english cottage roll in places in all the gardens. I have to wait and get my snapdragon plants first. Then fill in with the roll stuff. Oh, I just remembered, I have those pineapple lilies to plant, and two black irises too. I had ordered flowers from Guy at work, and those haven't made it in yet, and hell, I don't even remember what I got! Bummer. I also have 5 planters that I've put some of the english cottage flowers in. I have them sitting on the steps of my back porch.
When I get out of work, mom and I are going to one of the local nurseries to see what they have to offer. thank goodness next week is pay week! I just got off the phone with Chris. He's pushing for me to come back down over Memorial Weekend. Since the car hasn't been fixed yet, I doubt that will happen. Course, by that time, he will be unemployed, so he could come and get me!
Well...I've got a customer coming in! Time to go make some money! Oh, that didn't sound right! ;-)