Winter Chill...
Dessert Party '07
(2007-07-28, 9:50 p.m.)
Well...I'm sitting on the sofa, typing this up on my new laptop, that I'm loving! It's hard getting used to a new keyboard too!
The last two days have been very busy indeed! Yesterday morning, I got the mint cookies made, and yumminess was all around! Work was boring, so no point in talking about that. I did leave early last night so I could come home and make my mint brownie bits. I didn't want to be up half the night making them. Those were a pain in the ass to make, but turned out really delish! I would probably make them again, but not put foil down in the pan like they said.
I had to work today, but before that, I made key lime tarts. Two words: Yumm-my!! So easy to make too. The recipe said that it would make 6 tarts, but really it was nine. So I made two batches to take, and I have 8 left over. They are so sweet and rich. Work was semi-busy, and when I came home, Doris wanted to come over an use my internet to get an airline ticket for Atlanta. She was here for about 45 minutes, then I was able to sneak in a thirty minute nap, before going to mom and dad's.
The dessert party was a success, as always. Besides my stuff we had, pecan pie, lemon bars, cherry pie, dirt, rice crispy treats, macaroons, home-made ice cream, ice cream cake, and fudgy brownies. And the weather was great tonight for it. Last year it was in the mid 90's and awful humidity. Tonight, lower 80's with no humidity.
Tomorrow I plan on being in the sun most of the day. I really need to cut the grass, it's been a couple weeks!
I had a phone call tonight from a friend, who thinks she might be pregnant. She's only a couple days late, but she took a test and it said positive, so she's a bit freaked out. She's been late before, but this time she has a "feeling", and that's why she took the test. She's also working alot of hours, and is moving into a new house that she just bought, so there is some stress in her life. I told her not to freak out just yet, give it a couple more days, and if nothing has happened by then, maybe go hit the Health Department or find a free clinic for a blood test. She doesn't have insurance yet, but could get it. It was amusing when she called. I could tell from the first words out of her mouth, that something was wrong, but she didn't want to bug me at the party. I just called her back, and she seemed a bit better.
I think I need to go play some Blasterball!
Later dudes!