Winter Chill...
It's beyond a description today!
(2007-12-09, 12:49 a.m.)
Heads you get a tile shop story, tails you get a day in my life story. Care to chose your poison?
Heads you say?
Sounds like you are going to get a tile shop story. Just what you always wanted.
Friday, a couple came in to pick out tile for their backsplash and countertop. On their way out, they mentioned who their installer was, Hairy Little Dick Syndrome Man, and Jill commented that we hadn't heard from him in years, didn't even know he was still around.
About half an hour after the couple left, HLDSM calls and wants to talk to Jill. She gets on the phone, and he says, "so I hear a couple of my customers came in and picked out some tile."
"Yes they did."
"Well do me a favor then, if you're going to sell it to them, get an installer because I don't want to have anything to do with you."
And then, being a HLDSM, he hangs up the phone. I mean seriously, you are so bad that you told Jill off and hung up the phone on her. That just makes me so hot for a guy like you.
I got to work today, and Jill calls me. She's been thinking about this situation all night, and she's having a hard time trying to figure out why HLDSM is being such a cunt. She thinks it has something to do with a job she helped him bid out 5 years ago. When he got his bill, he claimed we were overcharging him on something, and wouldn't pay. Jill sat down with him and figured it out, and she thought everything was fine.
So the couple comes in today, and they were totally dumbfounded by what had transpired with HLDSM. The woman was extremely upset, you could tell she had been crying. And I probably would be to if I had my kitchen torn apart to the point where I couldn't use it. I took down their info, and told them I would get it to Eric, and maybe he could get out today or tomorrow to take a look, and get the quanities, so we could order it. The woman was really hoping to have it done by christmas, and I told her that Eric is pretty much booked, but there might be some things he can switch around to get them done. She was even more devastated when I told her that, she just walked out to her car.
I felt so bad for her, I almost started to cry too.
I eventually talked to Eric, and he was going to swing by and grab the measure sheet, and get there either today or tomorrow. I was relaying my conversation to him that I had with the couple, and her desire to have it done by Christmas, and his schedule blah blah blah, not sure if it can get done...yada yada yada.
He raises his voice to me and tells me to "never tell a customer that we can't have it done by a certain date..."
Oh no you didn't. I got right back in his shit and told him that I never said we couldn't do it, things might have to get juggled to get it done. I was pissed. You don't talk to me like that. I've been here for 11 fucking years, I know how it works.
And that was all in the first 45 minutes of being there...
I did have a special lunch delivery today. Chris was in town, so he brought me Jimmie John's! And I got a christmas gifr from him. I now have one of these!! I know, I'm awesome!
Okay..I'm having hella time trying to keep the eyes open...