Winter Chill...
Everything I wanted, incomplete
(2007-12-20, 11:59 p.m.)
For having a day off, I sure didn't get alot accomplished. Today was the Christmas brunch over at Sharon's. It was nice, we had a really good time. Allyson didn't make it, but it was Sharon, Kathy, Yvonne, and myself. The food was good, lots of different things. I ended up getting Sharon's gift, and she got mine. She had taken towels, and quilted some christmassy material on them. Oh...here's a pic of the wreath I made.
Photobucket
I have decided that next year I'm going to start in October and make wreaths to sell. I'm probably going to be getting up at the buttcrack of dawn the day after Christmas and going to Michaels to get stuff on clearance. Although, everything is half off right now, maybe I'll hit them tomorrow morning.
We were supposed to have out Christmas party tonight for the tile shop, but Jill called me at noon today and said that it just wasn't working out for some of them. It has been planned since the first of the month, I'm sorry Kari can't get a babysitter for her brat, but you've known about this for three weeks. So now I guess it's going to be sometime after the first of the year. I was hoping to catch Jill today before she left, I wanted to get her gift to her. I guess her kid called someone an ass at school and he got kicked out for two days. Nothing like extending his holiday vacation. That's not a punishment in my book.
Oh, I don't know how I completely forgot about this. Last night at work, I was getting off the elevator, and some of the construction worker bees were waiting to get on. One asked his buddy for a cigarette, and he said that it would be a buck for it. I made the comment that that was a pretty expensive cigarette. He looked at me, and told me he'd sell one to me for a nickel. I said I'd keep that in mind next time I needed one.
Oh yeah...totally didn't get any presents wrapped tonight either. I vegging in front of the telly with a smirnoff or two. And a beer. Tom and I were talking last night, and we got on the subject of my anal retentativeness control freak persona. He thinks I need to loosen up, which is true, so the plan is, to cut loose over the next 10 days. Next year is a year 1 in numerology, which is a good year to build new foundations for things, wether it be a new job, or relationship, or whatever. So after the first of the year, I'm going to seriously work on not being such a control freak. I also feel like I've lost my way, spiritually, so that is going to get rectified in the new year too. I have stacks of books, so my goal is to grab a book, and read at least a page a day. So if that means not getting online at night, so be it.
Two more things. Er, three. Have I told you lately how much I hate jewelry ads this time of year? With the passion of a thousand flea infested camels. Hate them. I will be so glad when this season is over with. Then there will be a break, before the shit starts for freaking Valentines Day. Christ.
Jon and I have picked out my next piece. It's sweet. That's all I'm going to say about that.
And finally, three years ago today I started writing this here little blog. In all honesty, it started out as a novelty, but as I wrote I realized how good it was for me. I have been able to meet some wonderfully cool people through here, and for that, I'm thankful.
If I don't get a chance to update before, I hope everyone has a wonderfully fabulous Christmas/Boxing Day with your families.
Love and kisses,
Sara