Winter Chill...
My dad's sick... ;(
(2008-12-17, 1:17 a.m.)
My dad is in the hospital. He thought he had the flu last Friday, so he stayed home from work that day. I stopped by on Saturday to grab some stuff I had left there, and he was stretched out on the sofa, with a heating pad on his ribs. He said he pulled something with all the shoveling he did Tuesday and Wednesday. Well, mom took him to urgent care about 11:30. When the doctor listened to his chest, he said he wasn't touching dad, and to get his butt over to the ER right away. So 4 hours later, he was admitted with bilateral pneumonia. Shot him full of some antibiotics, and he had to wear a breathing mask, since his O2 was so low.
This morning, he called mom at 4am, and said he couldn't breath. I had checked in on him a couple of times last night, and you would think that after having 48 hours of antibiotics in you, you would start to see a difference, and he was getting worse. So anyway, mom went out there this morning, and the decided to move him to Critical Care, they put him on a vent, catheterized him, and put him to sleep. When mom got out there this morning, his O2 was in the low 80's, which is not good. His doctors think that by keeping him doped up, he will get better. And if you know my dad, he's a worry wart, always thinking about things. And we think that was part of the problem, he was freaking out about how they are going to pay for this, and what's going to happen with his job...and shit like that. Mom told me this morning, that they aren't sure if there is more to this though. I mean, he still has the pneumonia, and it's bacterial at that, which is the harder of the two kinds to cure. But they also think he might have some other lung disease, or congestive heart failure.
I went up to see him several time tonight, and just before I left, his heart rate had dropped, and his O2 stats were leveling out, and his respirations where increasing. Which is all good. We're not sure how long he will be on the vent, I've heard 3 days, and up to 7 days.
And all during this, I've started talking to a guy I meet on Yahoo. He seems very nice, but I don't know if right now is the time to be starting something new with someone. He's divorced with three kids, 15,12,9, boy, girl, girl. Has a good job, is educated, and loves sports just as much as I do.
There's more....but I need to get some rest. I was sick myself yesterday. Not sure what I ate, but around 10:30 last night, whatever it was, was coming back up. It feels like someone is taking my stomach and squeezing it like an orange. Only occasionally though. But when it happens, it takes my breath away. That's the last thing I need right now, is to be sick too...
Peace out all...