Winter Chill...
Way to go Sara...
(2008-12-25, 11:51 p.m.)
Well, I upset and hurt my mom's feelings today, which wasn't my intent, so let me give you a little back story.
My dad used to work at the hospital. He was there for almost 30 years, when they let him go about 5 years ago. Mom and dad have never gotten over it, not have they "forgiven" dad's boss for letting him go. No mind you, that boss that was my dad's boss, was also my boss. And yes, it was shitty how it went down, I don't think my boss had anything to do with it, I think it came from the higher ups, and he was just the delivery guy of the bad news. But needless to say, even when I was in my previous job, they would make snide comments about my boss, and the hospital in general. Most of the time, I would just let them say what they wanted to say, it was no big deal.
When I got to the hospital today, I could tell that mom was upset. She feels like dad isn't making any progress, he should be getting better, he should be working on getting off the vent... And I agree. I'm not exactly thrilled with the fact that it's taking so long for him to get better. But he was very sick when he went in there. And I understand that too. Mom was also upset that the social worker called yesterday. She wanted to talk to mom about helping out when dad comes home. I guess the woman asked mom if dad was retired or working, and mom made the comment that he worked at the hospital for almost 30 years, until some little ladder climber forced him out of his position. So of course, the social worker was like, Oh...I take it you don't want to talk to me then? Mom was all, No I don't.
Then today when I was there waiting to start work, the nurse came in, and said a couple of things, and mom made some snide comment again. I looked at her and told her to be quiet.
So tonight when I called her after dinner, I asked her nicely to please refrain from making comments like that, since I still have to work there. Then she gets all pissed off, and is like, "fine, I won't say anything to anyone anymore...I'll just keep my mouth shut and not talk to anyone...and she' kept going on. I tried to explain to her, that if she pisses enough people off, no one is going to want to take care of dad. Then she starts in on how she hasn't even talked to one of dad's doctors since he's been in. So I said, "the next time you are here, have the nurse call the doctor so you can talk to him." I get a, "nope, I'm not talking to those fucking doctors, I get different stories from different people about what is going on with your dad, and I'm just not going to talk to them."
Then I made the comment about his lung doctor being there in the morning, and she replied with a, "What? I'm supposed to rearrange my schedule to match when they come in?" Well, I guess if you really wanted to know what the fuck was going on with your husband, you might get your ass out to the hospital in the morning to see the doctor.
I know she's worried, and she's scared, hell, I am too. So my ass is going to be getting up tomorrow and going out to the hospital in the hopes that I can talk to the doctor and find out what he really thinks.
He was semi-awake when I went up there tonight at 11. I know he wants get out of there, and I kept telling him that they were working on getting him better, that he was pretty sick when he went in there and it would just be a few more days, before they could take him off the vent. I know he's miserable with that stuck in his mouth and a tube down his nose, and three IV sites, and two chest tube drains.
I just want my dad to come home....