Winter Chill...
Whiny People
(2005-04-06, 2:57 a.m.)
It's late, I know....Annie came over tonight, and when she left she loaned me some of her CD's so I've been burning music and chatting with Sue. I have four more songs and I'm done for the night.

Okay, there is this girl that works in the OR...she's a certified surgical tech (CST). She is not my favorite person...but that is another story. What her job to do during a surgery is to hand the surgeon any thing he needs, scapel, retractors, needles, suture.....you get the drift. The CST also has to count instruments, when the surgery is done to make sure nothing was left inside the patient. Tonight she left some sponges in the patient. She was doing her count, and forgot to pull them out. Everyone makes mistakes, no one is perfect. Not a big deal. Did the portable x-ray, found them, they were just under the skin, opened the patient back up, got them out and closed up shop. She went home after that case, there was another crew on call to work on the next one. But the afternoon crew wasn't going to be done before 11, so she gets called back in. Just before she is to go to work, she runs to the locker room crying. So the doctor that was doing the previous surgery, was also doing the one she got called in for. The doctor goes into the locker room and is comforting her, telling her it's okay, don't get upset....blah blah blah. I'm sorry, but it was fucking pathetic to have to listen to it. Why did I have to listen to it? Because it was time for me to go, and alas, she had to have her break down in the womens locker room. So the doctor sends her home, "it's okay, you go home and get some sleep and I'll see you in the morning." My friend Allyson had to stay and do this case, and the shitty thing is, Allyson might get a thank you, but no shift of call or anything. It's bullshit. I will tell you more stories of the tech at a later date...now the pillows are calling....